Sunday, 16 November 2014

Shortlisted for Fiction award.

The English Department is delighted to invite you to the announcement of the winner of the David Harold Tribe Fiction Award 2014.

The David Harold Tribe Fiction Award is designed to promote interest in Australian Fiction and to encourage the writing of fiction in Australia. The prize money of $12 000 has been made possible by a generous donation from David Harold Tribe through the David Harold Tribe Charitable Foundation. The Fiction Award forms part of an awards program that supports a number of different cultural pursuits at the University of Sydney. The program offers five prizes worth $12 000 each in the areas of fiction, poetry, philosophy, sculpture and symphony. These categories rotate each year.

This is the second David Harold Tribe Fiction Award. The first was awarded to Patrick Mountford in 2009 for, Theobald, Tailor.

This year the judges were Associate Professor Kate Lilley (Director of Creative Writing at the University of Sydney), Dr Fiona McFarlane (novelist and critic) and Dr Ed Wright (writer and critic).

Warmest congratulations to the five shortlisted writers (in alphabetical order):
Hettie Ashwin, One Good Thing
Andrew J Carruthers, This is a Recital
Craig Cormick, The Legend of Billy the Kid
Ngare Elliot, The Moor’s Wife
John Scott, Picasso: A Shorter Life

No comments:

Post a Comment

if you like what you see please let me know, Ciao!